Home

Are you reading a good book? Or books?

I have the attention span of a gnat, so I’m always reading a few things at a time, not to mention keeping up with blogs and old fashioned magazines (some habits die hard). It occurred to me yesterday that it would be so awesome to be able to download certain bits of information directly into your head so that you’d have time to enjoy everything else. For example, I don’t love reading the newspaper–never have. But I love a good book. Both are important parts of life. Couldn’t I arrange to have the newspaper downloaded to my brain, so I could spend the afternoon lost in Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life?

Right now I’ve got two very long books going (don’t laugh!):

Gone-With-3

Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell

nelson-mandela-long-walk-to-freedom-800x1261

Long Walk to Freedom, Nelson Mandela

Admittedly, GWTW is going much faster than LWTF. Scarlett O’Hara is such an irresistible character, and Mitchell has a way with describing a particular moment in time. I must confess that I’ve done something very silly for reading the book on the subway. I’ve always found the bright red bodice-ripping cover rather embarrassing, so last week I went 100% old school and attached my own book cover made of plain white paper. I don’t know if I’m fooling anyone, but theoretically no one would know if I were reading GWTW … or LWTF!

By the way, though not as quite a fast read, LWTF continues to surprise and amaze me. I realized how little I know about where Nelson Mandela came from, and what experiences would later shape his life. A very interesting story.

Leave a Reply

