Home

adobe-photoshop-pdf

The most embarrassing thing happened to me the other day: I was in spin class, pedaling away, when I caught a whiff of ripe gym stench that made my nostrils flare. I was thisclose to passing judgement when I realized the stink was coming from me. Horrors!

I swear I wash my gym clothes religiously. Since I always leave Soul Cycle looking like I’ve taken a shower in my clothes (in my defense, so does everyone else!), I invest extra time to make sure those outfits get an extra soak in cold water right after use. And yet … I stink! Synthetic fabrics hold on to smells like veritable sponges. I wash and wash and still produce a lovely eau de gym sock. What gives?!

This weekend, with a little help from the Internets, I found the perfect solution (can’t resist a bad pun, sorry). Try this–it works!

To a sink full of cold water, add:
1 capful of Woolite
1 capful and an extra splash of white vinegar

Pop in clothing. Agitate for 60 seconds, and then leave to soak for 5-20 minutes.
Rinse in fresh cold water. Squeeze (but do not wring) out excess water. Hang to dry.
Apply nose to clothes and behold–NO SMELL!

It’s so weird because you’d think that the vinegar scent would stay on the clothing, but it totally fades away. I think the only tricky part is that you CANNOT use a detergent with bleach in it (hence the Woolite) or you’ll create horrible toxic chlorine gas when you mix in the vinegar. Walter White in Breaking Bad we are not.

I found this advice in the hilarious book My Boyfriend Barfed in My Handbag … And Other Things You Can’t Ask Martha, which every girl should own. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

